ArcadeCollecting.com
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
September 23, 2017, 01:07:05 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Yay, a message board!
319 Posts in 114 Topics by 43 Members
Latest Member: deejaymc
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ArcadeCollecting.com
|-+  General Category
| |-+  Mail Bag
| | |-+  displaying, say... street fighter 2 [on a TV]
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: displaying, say... street fighter 2 [on a TV]  (Read 4211 times)
tim
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 166


View Profile
« on: November 29, 2005, 02:33:42 PM »

Hi Tim
 
 
I have a brief question.
 
Are arcade monitors interlaced?
 
I do have an arcade monitor but i was curious if the AD725 could display say
 
street fighter 2 on a regular TV.
 
 
Do you know what chip JROK uses?
 
here is what some guy told me about the ad725 chip and what it does.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Hello Orlando,

The intended output from the AD725 in your case is NTSC-compatible
video. Another way to think of this is that you probably want the video
signal to create an acceptable picture on most standard TV monitors.

While it is possible to input many different scanning arrangements to
the AD725 (and maybe even get an output signal), you must closely
follow
the NTSC specs. These means that the input scanning should be
interlaced, 30 frames/sec or 60 fields/sec, etc.

It is possible to deviate from this somewhat, and still produce an
acceptable picture on most TVs. However, this is TV dependent, and all
TVs might not work the same way.

I believe that the format that you specify is non-interlaced (or
progressive) scan. This is not acceptable for any NTSC TV. The input
signal must be interlaced.

This issue does not have anything to do with the schematic. However,
schematics for connecting the part are provided in the data sheet. This
issue deals only with the input format, and this is totally under your
control.

I hope this helps. Please let me know if you need anything else.


Regards,
Peter

Peter Checkovich, Sr. Applications Engineer
781-937-1180
FAX: 781-937-1024
peter.checkovich@analog.com
Analog Devices
804 Woburn Street MS-129
Wilmington, MA 01887
www.analog.com

Alright tim thats it for the year!
 
 
Logged
tim
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 166


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2005, 02:34:22 PM »

Yes, arcade monitors are interlaced. I don't know anything about the AD725, though. I don't know what chip JROK's converter uses, either.

If the AD725 accepts 15.75khz horizontal and 60Hz vertical refresh rates, analog RGB negative composite sync inputs, then it will work.
Logged
vaxx
Newbie
*
Posts: 9


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2008, 04:48:15 AM »

Find an Amiga modulator and use that. Or something like this
http://www.ambery.com/rgbcgatovgac.html



 Plenty of web info on that or find a tv with a scart connector and input the rgb into that.
http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=en&safe=off&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:en-GB:official&hs=iuL&sa=X&oi=spell&resnum=0&ct=result&cd=1&q=scart+rgb+arcade+pcb&spell=1
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!